The status of my house.

If a burglar broke into my house right now, they’d turn and run back out the door.

Lilith is asleep next to me, pureed asparagus in her hair.  She even smells like asparagus.  I’m sure her night diaper will be pleasant in the morning.

Sabine is using the trash can as a drum set, along with some straws.  In her underwear.

The contents of my “baking cabinet” are emptied in the kitchen floor … bowls, my hand mixer, some cookie cutters, etc.

Clothes are strewn across the living room floor.  Mostly Sabine’s, but I’ll admit my socks are there, too.  Right where I left them when I took them off.

There are a few dishes in the sink.  Rinsed, but not washed.  The beds are unmade.  The tub is drained, but filled with toys.  We are currently the definition of “chaos”.

But … I am blissfully happy.  My children are fed, smiling, and comfortable, I am fed (although maybe a little uncomfortable because of just how much I was fed), my house is warm, the night is quiet, and I am very much in love with my family.

Leave a Reply

