Self Magazine Suxes

I keep wanting to write this post about body image and being fat. Or being skinny. Or being short or whatever. But recently has kinda sucked. No, that’s not a typo. I mean “recently” as in “everything in the most recent period of time.” Has been sucking. Now kinda sucks still, although not as much as recently, but I’m ready to write now. I think.

So, Kelly Clarkson was on the cover of Self Magazine recently (which, let’s remember, sucks). She did an interview and basically said she didn’t give a shit what she looked like. Not in a BAD way. More in a “I’m happy with myself so I don’t give a shit what you people THINK I look like” kinda way. Which is pretty freakin’ awesome. She’s got a hell of a voice, and good hair, and she’s not perfect, but seems nice. Like a nice chick. But then Self magazine had to go screw the whole thing up by cutting off like, her waist and chin and arms and stuff on her cover picture.

Which leads me to my reaction … WTF, Self Magazine? You hired a chick who you knew wasn’t a size 0. You did an interview with said chick in which she talked about how hung up on her weight everyone else was … and how she wasn’t hung up. Then you SCALED HER DOWN DIGITALLY to fit in with your magazine image? No. Either let her be who she is or don’t book her. Don’t make her into something she isn’t and make other women sit around thinking, “Why do people get all hung up on Kelly Clarkson’s weight!? She is SKINNY!” when really she is a normal girl and there’s a HELL of a lot of us running around looking like normal girls. Who need to see other normal girls looking like normal girls.

And it’s not just Self. Roadrunner wanted to cut a bunch of scenes out of bad ass Amanda Palmer’s music video because they thought she looked fat. Bizarre. I have no idea who they think her fans are but they’re most certainly NOT people hung up on a dress size.

And I want to address this as a MOM … not only as a mom though, but as a woman. A woman who is a mom. To another woman. Or a girl who will one day be a woman. You know what I mean. I don’t want my child to grow up thinking she has to fit into someone else’s idea of “perfect”. I don’t want to feel like I have to fit into someone else’s idea of “perfect”. This could have been a super fantastic opportunity for Self to say, “You know what? There’s more to being healthy than being skinny. There’s more to being beautiful than being skinny. You aren’t perfect? Neither are we! Rock your unique body, girlfriend!” Although people probably don’t say “girlfriend” anymore because I say it, and if I say it, it’s probably not cool to say anymore. Whatever they say now, the message is the same – It’s OKAY to be a size 2. It’s OKAY to be a size 12. It’s OKAY to be a size 24. Just be YOU. Be the best YOU that you can be. Not the best Kelly Clarkson or the best Jenn or the best Gisele or whatever that skinny bitch’s name is. Just BE.

2 responses

  1. and another thing….she doesn’t even look the same on the cover as she does on page 46 (the article about her). If you are gonna touch her up at least do it on all the picts!

Leave a Reply

