Holiday Musings

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m more than a little psychotic about Sabine eating healthy, organic foods.  Its OK.  You can call me psychotic.  I know and embrace my insanity.  That being said, I’m all for Easter baskets stuffed full of crap.  Not literal crap, but food crap.

We didn’t have candy in the house when I was growing up.  I couldn’t just go into the kitchen a grab a Twizzler.  There weren’t fun sized candy bars hanging around at any time.  My mom just wasn’t into that.  BUT, you can sure as hell bet that our house was FILLED with candy when Easter and Halloween rolled around … just as it was filled with baked goods for Christmas.  For my mom, candy was a treat.  Not a “You did good on this test” kinda treat but a twice a year, all out pig-fest, kinda treat.

I embrace this philosophy.  For one thing, I enjoy eating candy until I feel like puking.  Much more so than eating a single piece of candy.  But, I don’t want to do it like, once a month.  I need a good six months to forget that pukey feeling before I gorge again.  Well imagine that, there’s roughly seven months between Eater and Halloween!  My two pig out holidays!  Perfect timing.  For another thing … well, there’s really no other thing.  I enjoy eating too much candy twice a year.  That’s all I got.

Anyway, this will be how it is in our house for Sabine.  Junk food for junk food times.  Healthy year round.  I won’t be putting wads of candy in her basket this year.  I mean, you can’t really just throw a Snickers at a 15 month old.  But, there will be things in there that I normally don’t buy for her.  Gummi Bears.  Pack of Annie’s Bunny Grahams.  Stuff like that.

I won’t let her eat until she pukes this year, either.  So don’t worry.  I’ll save that joy until she’s 10 or so and we can do it together.  Togetherness, after all, is what holidays are all about!

Leave a Reply

