Well, snot.

And lots of it. From both Sabine and me. Fun!

There is nothing worse than having a sick baby … except possibly having a sick baby while you also feel like you are on the verge of death. I woke up around 2am Friday night, Saturday morning, whatever, with a killer sore throat. I took some Motrin, got a drink, contemplated going to the walk-in clinic the next morning and then decided I was just too sick for that (Stupid, yes, I know) and went back to bed. An hour later Sabine woke up crying. I couldn’t comfort her so I decided to nurse her and what do I hear? Yup — snot rolling ALL around in her head. Guess what? We both went to the doctor in the AM.

We were both diagnosed with upper respiratory infections and sent home with meds. Sabine never acted too sick. Just snotty. I acted like a dying cow and wailed and whined about how miserable I was. Last night Sabine woke up in the middle of the night again and she was on FIRE! I mean, it literally felt like I picked up a big ball of lava when I got her out of the crib. Her fever was just a little over 100. And panic ensued. So much panic that I woke her up completely and she stayed awake, babbling to me, for another hour. She then slept in bed with me for the rest of the night where I A) stuck my finger in her mouth repeatedly to make sure she wasn’t dehydrated B) Inched away from her progressively because she was so dang hot she made me sweat and C) Inched back toward her progressively to make sure she wasn’t in a fever induced coma.

Yeah, loads of sleep for the mama!

Anyway, my baby feels crappy. Which makes me feel crappy … and I already felt crappy. So I wanted to whine about it some more. Whiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine! There. I feel better. Sorta. 😦

I will also share with you all a pic of Sabine’s soaker I made. Excuse my atrocious looking floors. They are not dirty, they just have no sealant left on them. Six years and 400lbs of dog bouncing their claws all over will do that.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

