Real babies wear pink.

I just don’t understand it.  Are there a lot of boy babies out there, running around, wearing pink clothing?! 

We had Sabine out the other day shopping.  She was wearing a pink shirt with a ladybug on it, jeans, and pink socks with hearts on them.  An older couple stops to talk to us (If you don’t know, LOTS of people stop you when you’re wandering around with a baby.  It’s nuts!) and the guy says, “How cute.  How old is he?”

“SHE is about 3 1/2 months,” I reply.  Not rude, just corrective. 

“Oooooh, he says.  Oops!  I thought it was a boy.”  IT!?  Come on!

This happens probably once a week.  I don’t know where these pink wearin’ boys are, but I assure you if I had a son dressed in pink, Brandon would have me committed.

2 responses

  1. Yup, I’m totally there with you. I get this all the time. I was in Home Depot with my daughter the other day. She was dressed in a pink striped outfit with a lacy sunbonnet on. Two separate guys gushed over my “cute little boy.” Beats me.

  2. We went to dinner with friends one night and their two baby girls were wearing matching, super fluffy pink dresses with tons of lace. A man at the next table was like “My, they are good looking boys!”. I’m not sure if he maybe had some brain injury (for real, I’m not being mean) or what. I corrected him nicely a few times but he didn’t seem to get it….

Leave a Reply

